MFA Hidden Heroes Gala

Thank you for attending the Mercy For Animals Hope Gala. Together we raised over $1.2 million. Thanks to your generosity, we can continue our life-changing work for animals around the world.

Our hearts are filled with gratitude and hope for the future. The work we do is possible only because of your support, dedication, and compassion.


We are thrilled to announce that Mercy For Animals will celebrate its 22nd year in service of creating a compassionate food system with a special virtual gala. The Mercy For Animals Hope Gala will take place on Thursday, June 10, 2021, in a one-of-a-kind virtual experience.

5 p.m. PDT / 8 p.m. EDT – Pre-event starts. (Settle into your virtual seat, and learn more about Mercy For Animals.)
5:30 p.m. PDT / 8:30 p.m. EDT – Event starts.


Tabitha Brown
Hope Gala Host
Pinky Cole
Community Changemaker Award
Jane Goodall, PhD, DBE

Founder of the Jane Goodall Institute & U.N. Messenger of Peace

Hope Award
Erik Hastings
Hidden Hero Award
Miyoko Schinner
Global Impact Award
Cleo Anthony
Durrell “TANK” Babbs
María Gabriela De Faría
Pérola Faria
Javicia Leslie
Rooney Mara
Christian McGaffney
Daniel Newman
Alexandra Paul
Madelaine Petsch
Joaquin Phoenix
Sadaa Sayed
Mark Thompson
Alex Trevelin
Christopher von Uckermann
Big Sur Bound

Alison Luff and Matt Magnusson

Special Musical Performers
Avasa and Matthew Love
Special Musical Performers
Johnny Manuel
Special Musical Performer
Jade Novah and Devin Johnson
Special Musical Performers
After-Party Special Musical Performer
After-Party Special Musical Performer
Tonya Kay
After-Party Dance Performer
Aubrey Miller
After-Party Dance Performer
Cortney Palm
After-Party Dance Performer
Gianna Simone
After-Party Aerial Performer
Rachele Brooke Smith
After-Party Dance Performer
Nikki SooHoo
After-Party Dance Performer
After-Party Dance Performer

Celebrity Honorary Committee

We are grateful for the support of our celebrity honorary committee!
Justina Adorno
Roberto Aguire
Lexi Ainsworth
Lori Alan
Jordan Alexander
Stephanie Allynne
Carol Alt
Rachael Ancheril
Ace Anderson
Nicolás Andreoli
Maggie Baird
Lance Bass
Nick Bateman
Kristin Bauer
Dotsie Bausch
Ashley Bell
Amanda Grace Benitez
Christina Bennington
Mayim Bialik
Andy Biersack
Taylor Blackwell
Tia Blanco
Alex Boniello
Marco Borges
Jamie Campbell Bower
Brandon Boyd
Stephanie Braganza
Alistair Brammer
Lesley-Ann Brandt
Marianna Burelli
Genesis Butler
Brooke Candy
Kris Carr
Amanda Cerny
Pramoda Chitrabhanu
Margaret Cho
David Chokachi
Greg Cipes
Katie Cleary
Laura Clery
Holly Marie Combs
Claire Cooper
Stephanie Corneliussen
Maria Corrigan
James Cromwell
Josh Dela Cruz
Trent Culkin
Alex Blue Davis
Babette Davis
David-Simon Dayan
Donna D'Errico
Zara Devlin
Shea Diamond
Brett Dier
Jack Duarte
Alison Eastwood
Kimberly Elise
Shannon Elizabeth
Jake Epstein
Reid Ewing
Francesca Farago
Corey Feldman
Courtney Feldman
Amy Ferguson
Rhiannon Fish
Frances Fisher
Brandon Flynn
Vivica A. Fox
Kathy Freston
Daisy Fuentes
Kathryn Gallagher
Ricky Garcia
Nikki Glaser
Asaf Goren
Kat Graham
Fiona Gubelmann
Gus Halper
Alicia Hannah
Daryl Hannah
Mark Hapka
Nick Hargrove
Drew Harrisberg
Danny Hatchard
Davey Havok
Tricia Helfer
Elaine Hendrix
Elizabeth Ho
Shawn Hook
Jules Horn
Anjelica Huston
Carrie Ann Inaba
Kelley Jakle
Elgin James
Izabella St. James
Robbie Jarvis
Sarah Jeffery
Joan Jett
Olivia Newton-John
Brittney Johnson
Evan Jonigkeit
Alicia Dea Josipovic
Harry Jowsey
Enes Kanter
Rory Max Kaplan
Cody Kearsley
Andrew Keegan
Emma Kenney
Gus Kenworthy
Elliot Knight
Joanna Krupa
Richie Kul
James Kyson
Honey LaBronx
Elizabeth Lail
Matt Lauria
Joshua Leonard
Patricia De León
Alexi Lubomirski
Joanna Lumley
Evanna Lynch
Zosia Mamet
Kate Mara
Richard Marx
Mena Massoud
Carson McCalley
Ryan McCartan
Nellie McKay
Austin P. McKenzie
Dan McKernan
William McNamara
Martin Médus
Alex Meneses
Daniella Monet
Joseph Morgan
Leilani Münter
Terra Naomi
Jayde Nicole
Eva Noblezada
Hayley Marie Norman
Tig Notaro
Jodi Lyn O'Keefe
Darin Olien
Edward James Olmos
Trent Owers
Juan Pablo Di Pace
Mary Michael Patterson
Khary Payton
Cassandra Peterson
Rain Phoenix
Alison Pill
Hannah Pilkes
Michael Rady
Katherine Ramdeen
Anthony Rapp
Marco Antonio Regil
Ciara Renée
Gabrielle Reyes
Simone Reyes
Sebastian Roché
Jordan Rodrigues
Elisabeth Röhm
Rich Roll
Madelynn De La Rosa
Mark Rowley
Ronen Rubinstein
Ivanna Sakhno
Davi Santos
Gabe Saporta
Allison Scagliotti
Emmett J. Scanlan
Nev Schulman
Luke Shayler
Mallika Sherawat
Alicia Silverstone
Jaason Simmons
Sofía Sisniega
Amy Smart
Harley Quinn Smith
Kevin Smith
Christophe Caron Soriano
Taylor Spreitler
Oliver Stark
Skylar Stecker
Cassie Steele
Angie Stevenson
Courtney Stodden
Joss Stone
Tara Strong
Sally Struthers
Mena Suvari
Serinda Swan
Cary Tedder
Chloe Temtchine
Justin Tranter
Wesley Tucker
Catie Turner
Ietef "DJ CAVEM" Vita
Komie Vora
Meg Vora
Dee Wallace
Mateus Ward
Diane Warren
Lucy Watson
Koya Webb
Mark Webber
Devon Werkheiser
Paul Wesley
Mecca White
Persia White
Alissa White-Gluz
Alicia Witt
Calum Worthy
Al Yankovic
Nuseir Yassin
Owain Yeoman
Barrett Yeretsian
Rob Zombie
Sheri Moon Zombie
Josh Zuckerman

Host Committee

David Benzaquen, Gloria and Geezer Butler, Mike Chou, Neysa Colizzi, Amy Dubman and Brook Dubman, Claire Gates and Family, Anthony Fleischmann, ForGoodnessSeyks, Tatiana Freitas, Jim Glackin and Dr. Natalia Ruiz, Courtney and Gordon Gould, Siddharth and Nabiha Hariharan, Amanda Hearst, Sandhya and Prem Jain, Shephali and Mohit Jain, Stacey and Don Kivowitz, Virginia Kress, Joshua Levine, Rebecca and Ariel Nessel, Miyoko Schinner, Timi and John Sobrato, Jennifer and Pavle Stojkovic, Adam and Amber Tarshis, Robert Torricelli and Susan Holloway Torricelli, Tracy Vogt, Diana Walsh and Kent Walker, The Diane Warren Foundation, Elisa Wolfe.

Thank You to Our Sponsors

Patron & Advocate Sponsors

Supporter & Friend Sponsors

The gala offers businesses and organizations a one-of-a-kind chance for exposure among high-profile guests. Sponsorship packages are ideal for any business owner, individual or corporate, seeking to align their brand with Mercy For Animals’ mission to reduce suffering and end the exploitation of animals for food.

For more information about the gala or sponsorship opportunities, please contact Henry Lucero, director of events, at [email protected] or 1-866-632-6446.

Why Virtual?

Because of the ongoing pandemic, we made the decision to cancel all in-person events until health and safety recommendations change. We’re still excited to bring you an evening of inspiration, storytelling, and community to benefit the animals who need our help. The online platform will enable guests to stream the event live; engage with fellow guests via chat and video at virtual tables; and take real-time action, such as participating in the donor challenge or bidding on auction items.

  • Enjoy the event from the comfort of your own home!
  • No driving or car service needed—leave your keys on the dresser and your car in the driveway.
  • Party with the stars—virtually!
  • All time zones welcome.
In Memoriam
Susan Weingartner
December 14, 1959–November 4, 2019

In 2019, the animal protection movement lost an icon: activist, mom, photographer, fashionista, and all-around sassy, fun-loving superhero Susan Weingartner. Susan planned our galas for six years with so much love, energy, and excellence. We dedicate our 2021 Hope Gala to celebrating her life and impact. A key member of our Mercy For Animals family and the movement, Susan was a friend and mentor to a generation of activists, and we continue our work with her spirit and zest for life. We hope you enjoy the gala and all our events with the same joy Susan brought to our world.